Birds

Paschkis word birdOh, birds. I love to see them, listen to them and draw them. Birds can be real or symbolic.

A bird can be conveyed in a single line, as in this French fabric from 1886.1886 france birds

Or in many lines, as in the Pennsylvania Dutch Fraktur from 1815:fraktur bird

I have a flock of bird images pinned up in my studio for inspiration. Here are a few of them.

Owls by C.F.A. Voysey from England (1897):voysey owls

Peacock from a 1920’s Japanese Matchbox: matchbox peacock

Gluckwunsche from the Wiener Werkstatte:

werkstatte bird

I put birds in my paintings, fabric and books. These birds were from my first fabric line, Folklorica.bobolinkI painted these Golden Birds for my sister.Paschkis Golden BirdsAnd designed a line of fabric called Chickadee.Paschkis Chickadee VineBut after the terribly apt Portlandia episode (Put A Bird on It) I felt ashamed of this love. I must be able to think of something else to draw!

Of course I found other subject matter.Paschkis bicycle trickBut birds flew back into paintings –Paschkis bluebirdand paper cuts:Paschkis cut bird borderand onto quilts:Paschkis yellow bird quilt crowPaschkis Cat and Bird Quilt

Birds are all around us, real and imaginary.Paschkis owl and birds

I think that if you feel like it, you should put a bird on it. Why not?Paschkis - connection

paschkis bird

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Birds

  1. cbonnell@cox.net

    love, love, love, love, love them all. I have a small black & white paper cutting of yours of 2 birds over an open book–which I also love, love, love, love! Keep up the good work! Cathy

    PS–doesn’t look like I have any plans to get to WA. Leaving for NYC on Tues. for 5 days–will get to see the Illustration show!

  2. Loved the bird musings! The collected bits and illustrations too bit the ponderings are taking center stage for me. Illustrated journey of a talented artist.

Leave a Reply

