Red Star

In the winter a bit of red is nice. A red berry or a red bird can warm the landscape. So I designed a red scarf.

I started by looking at red fabrics in one of my favorite books: Russian Textiles by Susan Meller.

russian-textiles

I noticed that the reds were made more beautiful by the colors around them- by more reds, and by contrasting colors. Here is a small feast of some of the Russian textiles that inspired me. Most of them are from the 19th century. They are either block printed or roller printed on cotton.

russian-block-printed-027

russian-textiles029

russian-block-printed-026

russian-paisley032

russian-block-print030

russian-suzani-print031

1900-roller-printed-025

I got out every tube of red gouache that I own and painted the basic building block of my scarf: a red star. The half circle and quarter circle on the edges flip to create whole flowers. I wanted joyful colors.

dragonthread-red-star-copy

I painted a border to use on the ends of the scarf with a different red background.

dragonthread-red-border-copy

I kept a record of all of the colors that I used: one sample sheet for myself, and one for the printer.

dragonthread-red-swatch-copy

Then, with photoshop, I made a design for a long scarf using that basic red star as a building block, flipping and repeating it. It looked too busy with the border panel, so I ditched that. Using the existing art I created a simpler star pattern for the ends, and added a red-orange border all around. Here are some of the steps, and then the final design.

Paschkis dragonthread-red-d Paschkis dragonthread-red-c

red-scarf-small-copy

Linda Teufel of Dragon Threads had it printed in China. The scarf is 20″ x 70″ long on a beautiful, matte silk crepe de chine, with a hand rolled hem. The red saturates through both sides of the scarf. Allow me to model it for you, please.

It is a limited edition. You can buy one here at juliepaprika.com for $48. I’ll also be selling them (and books and prints) at the Ravenna Holiday Art & Craft Sale at the Ravenna Neighborhood Center, December 3rd from 10-3 (6535 Ravenna Ave. NE). Please come by!

I will leave you with a poem and picture that I wrote/drew about the color red. This is a page from a picture book that I am working on now.

Paschkis Red Poem

4 responses to “Red Star

  1. This is gorgeous!! I’ll add it to my Christmas wish list!!

  2. cbonnell@cox.net

    beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!

  3. Lovely!!! Thank you for sharing that wonderful book of Russian Textiles as well!

Leave a Reply

