Oh, Mama

This is a story of many hands.


In May of 2015 I had a show at the  Bitters Co barn in Mt.Vernon, WA. I wrote here about  the barn sized quilt that I made for it: Mr. Big.
Here is a picture of Mr. Big in his new home, where he can stretch his legs over two stories.
mr-big-on-house

This year I wanted to make another big quilt, so Oh Mama was born.
Oh Mama is made of cotton quilting  fabric that I designed over the years for In The Beginning Fabrics. I designed the quilt and cut out the pieces at home. Then I went to Coyote Central and laid it out on the floor. I came home and sewed it together, and then sewed many pieces together for the back. It was too big to spread out in the house so I spread it out on the street.
julie-on-quilt-top
Now to sew the front and back together! I put out a request for help, and  the following kind and wonderful women stepped up:  Betz Bernhard, Margaret Bovingdon, Nancy Harriss, Eileen Hynes, Karen Kosoglad, Christina Reed, Liza von Rosenstiel, Marybeth Satterlee, Joanne Segura, and Lana Sundberg. Nancy took pictures as we worked (at Coyote Central).
img_2912-1
In just a few hours we had tacked it together. I did not include quilt batting because I wanted it to be able  to withstand some weather.
img_2953-1
I took the quilt up to the Bitters Co. barn where it was welcomed by the fabulous Carson sisters, Katie and Amy.
img_0961
Installation involved long poles.
img_2566
Oh Mama likes to look out at the fields of Mt. Vernon, her new home.
img_0900
Oh Mama was part of a show that I had at the Bitters Co.barn this year. I did the work for the show (paintings, drawings, quilts and paper dolls) over the last year and a half. Just before the show I broke my wrist and elbow. The show was still able to go up thanks to Katie and Amy and to my good friends Margaret Chodos-Irvine and Julan Chu.
I think Oh Mama is saying OH my friends are wonderful.

Read on if you would like to e-visit the show at the barn.
img_0892
The pictures start with the set up and end with the work in place.
img_3294

img_1777

img_3291img_3295

img_3300
img_2551img_0842  img_0948img_3288
img_0912img_0872 img_0873
img_1846
Thanks for visiting.

6 responses to “Oh, Mama

  1. I see a little late Matisse in a couple of them. Really, your work perfectly suits the display space, or vice versa. Congrats on the show, and I hope you are healing well.

    • Thank you, Melanie. The barn is such a beautiful place. It is the opposite of a neutral white-walled space and it fills me with joy and ideas.

  2. What a beautiful show! Love Oh Mama!! Sorry to hear about the wrist and elbow. Sending good healing vibes.

  3. Thank you for sharing. Many quilt shows I have attended are jam to the over head lights and I find them uncomfortable. The show in the Bitter’s Barn is filled with joy and room to roam.

    • Thank you.
      Birds used to fly through the barn which was wonderful, if a little risky to the art. Now the birds stay outside.

Leave a Reply

