A Good Gig

This week I went to Gig Harbor and spoke to the Gig Harbor Quilters Guild. Quilts historically were often made by more than one person, at quilting bees.

BeeHiveVintageGraphicsFairy31In modern times quilters maintain community through quilters guilds. It is wonderful to meet women (and occasionally men) who build a community through a shared love of textiles. The Gig Harbor group is friendly and interesting. The president Barbara Kadden and the treasurer Dana Toulson are organized and kept everything running smoothly.
I talked about how I design fabric, draw pictures, draw inspiration and make quilts. Here are a few of the images from my talk:

Some cloth quilts:

Paschkis quiltPaschkis ampersandPaschkis Clementine

And a paper quilt:

Paschkis paper quilt

These are some of the quilts and other projects that the guild members shared. The work was inspiring in its range and beauty. Please excuse my photography which doesn’t do the work justice Also, a few people showed quilts before I thought to get out my camera!

IMG_1268 IMG_1272 (1)

IMG_1280 IMG_1274IMG_1275 IMG_1281 IMG_1269 IMG_1286 IMG_1289 IMG_1294IMG_1297 IMG_1295

I was especially touched that several guild members made pieces using my fabric line Kalinka. There were quilts, pillows, trapunto and hangings.

IMG_1264 (1)

IMG_1301

Dana Toulson made this quilt with Kalinka on the front and back.IMG_1299IMG_1300Barbara Kadden quilted lines from Yedid Nefesh, an old Jewish liturgical poem:
Heart’s delight, Source of Mercy
draw Your servant into Your arms.
I leap like a deer
to stand in awe before You.IMG_1266

I was nervous beforehand to stand before a quilter’s guild. But their warmth and friendliness filled my heart with delight. Thank you, Gig Harbor.

12 responses to “A Good Gig

  1. Thank you for your visit. I enjoyed your presentation very much. Your love of your craft came through in your personality.

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed your presentation and my grandchildren are enjoying your books. Thanks so much for sharing your stories with us. You are a very interesting, colorful person. You light up the room!

  3. I just love quilting and the idea of collectively creating such magnificant pieces, these are stunning!

    • Julie Paschkis

      I think even when the quilters in the guilds are working by themselves, they encourage and inspire each other. But it’s especially fun to work with other people on projects.

  4. Cathy Bonnell

    I spotted your beautiful scarf Julie on the woman with the quilted eggs. Every quilt was just fabulous. I would like to know more about your paper quilt–available as poster? individual squares or all one piece?

    • Julie Paschkis

      Didn’t those eggs and the scarf go together well?
      …I am having a show at the Bitters Barn in La Conner, Washington from September 17- October 2. I will have several paper quilts there. I’ll probably have some of the individual squares as well.

  5. What fun! I’ve recently started doing guild presentations and really love it. It must have been touching to see that several had used your fabric designs, and so well, too! Would have brought tears to my eyes. 🙂

    • Julie Paschkis

      Maybe a guild will bring you to the northwest some time!

      • Or maybe my son will. He is based at Lewis-McCord. 🙂 We had a plan to go this summer, road trip from IA for the whole 2000 miles, through national parks and scenic ways. But he’ll be overseas for the summer, where the temps are in the 110+ F range… So our trip will be postponed for another time.

  6. Wonderful fun, Julie. Makes my heart and eyes happy to see all the colors and creativity.

Leave a Reply

