Scarves

I have loved scarves ever since I met Auntie Katushka in the book Poppy Seed Cakes.katushka
For much of my adult life I have worn a scarf in my hair. I like having a little color on my head. Occasionally I try to give up the habit but it doesn’t last. I keep the scarves over a chair.scarf collection
My favorite scarves are made by Soueleiado, designed by Charles Demery. I have several of them, mostly worn to threads and shreds. soueleiado soueleiado rose soueleiado border demery scarf demery border
Lily is modeling a Soueleiado scarf.
lily in scarf
I love head scarves, neck scarves, stripes, patterns and paisleys. So you can imagine how happy I was when Linda Teufel asked me to design scarves for her company, Dragon Threads.  My first scarf for Dragon Threads is coming out at the end of this month and it is called Summer Birds. First I painted the basic building blocks for the scarf and border.scarf painting bird border BL copy
Then I used Photoshop to repeat those elements. I was slow and clumsy – I am much more comfortable with a brush than with a mouse.
brown mouse
But after many mismatches and clicks I was able to make the scarf repeat. First I doubled the image (flipping them) and then doubled the doubles.
Paschkis bird scarf bird borderL copy 2
At last it was a complete scarf!
Paschkis summerbird scarf
Modelled here by Linda Teufel’s beautiful friend Shelby.
DSC06189
You can order the scarf here at Julie Paprika. It is a limited edition printing and the scarf is $48. Please buy one because I want to keep designing them! Thanks.
scarf label

p.s. Butterflies used to be called Summer Birds. I learned this from Margarita Engle in her book about Maria Merian.

6 responses to “Scarves

  1. Very beautiful. If I wore scarves anymore, I would buy one for sure. Best wishes for a successful scarf career. 🙂

  2. Beautiful! And so wonderful to see Lily in finery! I had been wondering if she was still living. Bowser made it to 15 and Bester to 16 and a half…. We have been dogless for a year now, after 20 years of sharing our home with fur people….

    • Julie Paschkis

      Lily died at the end of October – I tried to send you a message through FB but it must not have gone through. That picture is from September.
      We miss her so much!

  3. Got one! I was in your class in the Ballard quilt shop.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

