Gobble

mexican embroideryMexican markets are filled with beautiful embroidery. Some of it is handmade and exquisite. Some of it is inexpensive and rougher – I don’t know if it is machine or hand made. I love it all. The exuberant patterns and colors fill me with joy. These first two images are the fronts of dresses that I bought at a stand in Tulum.
To see lots more embroidery go to www.mexicantextiles.comblue mexican embroideryPavo means turkey in Spanish. Pavo Real means peacock.  Here are some Otomi birds.otomi embroidery 

pavo

Happy Thanksgiving to everyone whether you are having pavo, pavo real or pavo tofu.

4 responses to “Gobble

  1. Love all the vibrant colors! Happy gobbling tomorrow :).

  2. Just happened to see this post. I love the Mexican embroidery! Here’s a link to a post of mine, showing the medallion quilt I made using a portion of a dress. It’s one of my very favorite quilts for a number of reasons. http://catbirdquilts.wordpress.com/2014/01/09/round-robin-with-my-sister/

    • What a great project to do with your sister! I like how even though you have different voices they are united in the quilts.

Leave a comment